Crock-Pot Cookin’ – Jamaican Black Bean Soup

Three years ago my mom bought me a crock-pot during one of her Black Friday trips (no thanks – I hate crowds).

The first thing I made was pulled pork. Let me tell you, when you bust this baby out at parties when everyone has the 1 a.m. vodka stomach, you quickly become the hit of the party.

But soon I realized the full power of the crock-pot. While I generally put it away for the summer, as soon as the temperature gets a bit blustery I pull it out again. The wonderful thing about a crock-pot is meals have about a five minute prep time, and you can often get a bunch of meals out of just one recipe.

My absolute favourite recipe is the one I made tonight. I originally got it from the Savvy Vegetarian and it is called Jamaican Red Bean Soup. I’ve made a couple adjustments to it and this is my recipe for Jamaican BLACK BEAN Soup.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (I used more like 6 cloves – I love garlicky soup!)
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 sweet potato, diced
  • 1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp ground allspice
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 (16 oz) cans black beans, drained and rinsed*
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1 – 2 cups unsalted vegetable broth or water
  • Optional: 1/4 tsp salt or to taste

Directions:

  1. Pour the oil into a 4-quart slow cooker and set the cooker on high. Add the garlic and put the lid on the cooker while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.
  2. Add in potatoes, tomatoes and red pepper.
  3. Stir in the curry powder, thyme, red pepper flakes, allspice, and salt and pepper to taste
  4. Add the beans, coconut milk, and broth
  5. Reduce heat, cover, and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.

This soup freezes VERY well. I find the longer it is frozen for (to some extent) the tastier it is. I normally get about 10 individual sized portions from this recipe. It is a hearty soup so eating it over rice is also a great choice.

One response to “Crock-Pot Cookin’ – Jamaican Black Bean Soup

Leave a Reply

