Pumpkin Pie – OH MY!

So I absolutely love Thanksgiving. My aunt makes THE best stuffing from scratch – and everything from the perogies to the caesar salad dressing is homemade. This year I cooked my first turkey, gravy and stuffing for my partner’s Thanksgiving Dinner.

However, there is one thing that I ALWAYS buy from the store…

*gasp*

…pumpkin pie.

I absolutely LOVE store-bought pumpkin pie (especially the Safeway one in the orange box). I have tried to make PP on numerous occasions to no avail. However I do add my own homemade touch to the dessert – maple cinnamon whipped cream. Then you can at least take partial credit for the dessert and it only takes five minutes.

Here is recipe I use (this is a good sized portion per pie – but I normally double/triple it):

From left: Whipping Cream, Maple Syrup (I just used whatever I had in my cupboard but REAL syrup would’ve been better), Vanilla (from Mexico!), Organic Agave Nectar and Organic Cinnamon.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar (or 1/2 tablespoon of agave nectar – which is what I used)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preparation:

Beat the cream on high speed until it begins to thicken and get slightly stiff. Add the maple syrup, sugar, vanilla extract, and cinnamon to the cream. Continue whipping the cream until it forms stiff peaks. I don’t have a beater so I used my blender and it worked really well.

Done and done.

Happy turkey (or tofurkey) day everyone!

*Maple Cinnamon Whipped Cream – YUM!

2 responses to “Pumpkin Pie – OH MY!

Leave a Reply

