Banana Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

MMMMMM. What is better than warm banana bread straight out of the oven?

I’ll tell you… banana cookies, with both chocolate chips (two kinds) and peanut butter.

Banana Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

 
So I had three bananas that were incredibly overripe, and instead of throwing them out I decided last night to crank out a couple batches of cookies. See my partner is a huge Blue Bomber fan, and I had made a ton of testosterone-infused sandwiches (which means lots of different kinds of high sodium deli meat) for him to take on this “party bus” to Regina for the Labour Day weekend game. So I thought, being the loving gf I am, that I would make a huge batch of cookies for him to take along.
I took the initial recipe off of here http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/04/peanut-butter-banana-chocolate-chip-cookies/ but made a few changes.

This is a recipe for a single batch but I did a double batch last night.

Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

makes about 18-20 cookies

2 cups + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

8 tablespoons of unsalted butter

6 tablespoons of creamy peanut butter

1 cup loosely packed brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/2 ripe medium bananas, mashed *The riper the better!

1 cup milk chocolate chips
1/2 cup white chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

I put the butter and peanut butter in on the stovetop on low and mix until soft.I removed it from heat, added both sugars and stirred until mixed. I added in the eggs, bananas and vanilla. A lumpy mixture is okay, it won’t be smooth because of the bananas. Then I mixed the flour, salt and baking soda in a separate bowl  and added gradually. Then I added in the chocolate chips.

Now this is my favorite part about baking cookies. I stuck my hands in the dough. The dough is quite sticky, more so than regular chocolate chips so don’t let that scare you off. I put the dough into little balls, pressed them onto the non stick cookie pan and they were ready to go in the oven for 10-12 minutes. Make sure you take them out when they are fairly soft – don’t overcook! They won’t get super hard because of all the delicious mashed up banana in them.

The first couple trays I made larger cookies, but the last 3 or so I made them more bite-size. I think I prefer the bite-size ones especially if you are making them to share.
My next batch I will try and make a healthier version – maybe agave nectar and applesauce? Maybe some oats? I just didn’t want to play around with it too much because I have never made these before.

Also, I will be giving away a whole batch of these babies on Friday, September 7th if you like and share my Facebook page. So do that!
Hope you enjoy!

Leave a comment